Finding Your Heart’s Name

I’ve never disliked me name. I simply don’t feel connected to it.
It doesn’t feel like my title or my soul, but rather a tag on a package.
When someone calls my name, I generally don’t respond quickly.

Alexis.

ALEXIS.

ALEXIS!!??
huh?

I accepted this as part of normal life and figured eventually it would click.
I’m nearly 26.
No click.

. . . . .

After talking to some friends, I found out that a LOT of people actually feel this way.
This saddened me.
Shouldn’t we love our names?
Shouldn’t our names be a part of our essence?

A few friends suggested I find my “heart’s name.”
So I set out to do just that.
After weeks taking various different names for test drives.
I feel at home.

. . . . .

Family and friends: you can still call me Alexis.
I won’t be offended; it won’t be weird.
All changes take time.

8135539_f520

xoxo, Willow

Leave a Reply

